Bound to Abound

By

Opening to Abundance

Oh wait, you’ve never heard of the Law of Abundance?  But, Iet me guess, Murphy’s Law is a regular part of your vocabulary.  You know, that law that states that whatever can go wrong, will go wrong.  Well, I’m not quite sure which Negative Nancy coined the term, but Murphy’s Law has never served me well.  At best, it can result in some chuckles or a defeated sigh, at worst Murphy’s Law brings destruction, devastation and heartache.  In addition, it is a life ideal based upon deeply rooted FEAR; an emotion I’m not very fond of.

I’ve got a different law that I’ve chosen to live by: the Law of Abundance.  This is the law that states that whatever can go right, will go right.  Any chance for that light, goodness, love and compassion to seep in and it WILL happen, the good always finds its way; adding to the yumminess and complexity that is life.  This particular Law serves me much better.  In addition it is a life ideal based upon deeply developed ACCEPTANCE; an attitude that I am quite a bit fonder of. 

Now, in order to live under the Law of Abundance one must be comfortable with a catcher’s mitt on their hand.  Receiving is not a natural act for everybody and it has been a rocky stretch on my personal path; navigating how to do this thing they call “receive”.  I continue to learn each and every day.  I work on how to receive each moment more fully, how to receive the sour along with the sweet, the light with the dark, how to receive compliments, how to receive gifts, how to receive a difficult day, how to receive a “thank you” without waving it away or pushing it down. Acceptance.  Acceptance.  Acceptance…And a dash of the ability to see that I am worthy of it all. 

The more deserving that I feel the more goodness comes at me.  Don’t get me wrong, this is not to be confused with having a sense of entitlement.  I don’t think that I deserve to win the jackpot when I can’t even be bothered to go out and buy a ticket.  But I am getting better at recognizing what I have to offer, acknowledging my own value and seeing the direction in which my path leads.  What is most amazing of all is that this door of abundance is open to me at ALL times, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  It comes in many shapes and sizes: a smile from a stranger, I’ll take it!  Kind words from a friend, yep, thank you very much!  An invite, a gesture of gratitude, a receptive ear, a loving embrace, I’ll take all of it and more.  I’m ready!  Bring it on!  The Law of Abundance may even show itself in the form of a closed door on occasion.  We may not understand why at the time, but it’s safe to believe that it’s because we’re deserving of something much better that hasn’t quite arrived yet…

Well, my catcher’s mitt is getting weathered and comfy, world.  I like the feel of it on my hand.

Written and published by Kristin Gilbert Ramirez of OM Puerto Viejo, January 2013.

