Young Grasshopper Says…

By

Grasshopper - Saltamontes

The Grasshopper is the totem animal for the day.  As I was wrapping up my Reiki Masters training this morning I started explaining to my friend and teacher how stagnant I feel these days.  With the business being closed so long due to construction I have exhausted my “vacation” days since many days past.  I’ve come to the realization that I need structure in order to feel my most productive and progressive; in order to feel that I am still moving in some way, shape, or form towards….something.  I’ve had so much free time I don’t know what to do with it or with myself within these newfound, widespread confines.  I am floating.  I am aimless.

As we were chit-chatting away we both noticed a high-flying little friend on the study table.  We immediately looked up the meaning and I knew without doubt why Young Grasshopper had come into our lives this morning.  

The Grasshopper:  According to Ted Andrews (Animal Speak) the grasshopper is symbolic of forward movement.  This incredible being can jump 20 times it’s own body length upwards or forwards, but is incapable of moving backwards.  The grasshopper is, even when sitting silent and still, a leggy, limby embodiment of progress.  At any moment and as fast as lightening the grasshopper disappears out of sight from what was, moments before, a statuesque stillness.  

On Linsdomain.com, spiritual healer Lin sums up the grasshopper as the sign for “uncanny leaps forward”, a subtle push to connect with our intuition and take the JUMP.  She describes clearly the message from our 6-legged friends:  ”take a chance, trust your hunches and leap forward. Grasshopper does not move slowly…it jumps at an alarming rate. Trust your own instincts on when to make leaps. Trust your inner voice. It will lead you to great successes. Don’t be afraid to leap.”

Thank you, Young Grasshopper, thank you.  The message has been duly noted.

Written and published originally by Kristin Gilbert Ramirez of OM Puerto Viejo, June 2012.

