Already Home

By

Two roads diverged in a wood and I – I took the one less travelled by.  ~Robert Frost

As the time approaches for me to once again board a plane, it sets my mind a wandering.  Another journey about to begin!  It has been over a year since I have seen my immediate family.  I have nieces and a nephew who are quickly sprouting closer to my own height.  I have a mom and dad, sister and brother, aunts, uncles, cousins who are all long overdue for hugs and tea and laughs and cries.  I have second cousins born that I’ve yet to meet.  I have a big, open, beautiful farm to go back to, which is about to be surrounded by the colors of leaf peeping season; autumn in Maine.  So why in the world, one might ask, would any sane person pick up and leave a beautiful life and family to dive off into the deep blue unknown, the great wide open, the mysterious realm of the world at large?  I’m not sure I’ll ever have appropriate answers to that question, but I do know this:  hula hooping with my nieces, making a snowman with my nephew, homemade dyna-mites with my grandma (the kind you eat, not the kind you blow up), Lobster bakes on the farm; these are all part of a meticulously planned insurance package.  Gorgeous moments like these insure that I will always have a clear and detailed roadmap of how to get back to my roots.

 

In the meantime, I take comfort in all of my fine moments of discomfort.  I relish in being face to face with a foreign culture, one that at times seems more aligned perhaps with an alien nation than my own.  I embrace my global family, celebrating friends from over a dozen different nations.  All of their colors (albeit at times quite wacky) contribute to the ongoing piece of art that is me.  I’ve learned just how much we are all TRULY CONNECTED. It doesn’t matter which corner of earth you’re from, there is always common ground.  I bumble in communicating with the French tourist.  I fumble in explaining what Reiki is to the traditionally religious Tica.  I live. I learn. I make mistakes.  I laugh, I cry, I freak the f$%k out.  And at the end of every day I take a big, full breathe and much comfort in the fact that no matter where I am, what I’m doing and which colorful characters I’m surrounded by, I’ve already made my way home.  I’m already home. 

 

Not all who wander are lost.  ~J. R. R. Tolkien

See the World

